Eagle Scout Alumni

/Eagle Scout Alumni
Eagle Scout Alumni 2018-08-26T11:33:41+00:00

The Purposes of a Council NESA Committee

  • Support the council’s mission and vision.
  • Help the council achieve its Journey to Excellence goals.
  • To find and encourage Eagle Scouts to become active resources for the council leadership and programs.
  • Recognize Eagle Scouts, Venturing Summit and Sea Scouting Quartermaster Scouts for their achievements.
  • Recognize Scholar Scouts through the Soaring Eagle Scholarship
  • Recognize Outstanding Eagle Scouts for their contributions in Scouting and their Community.
  • Recognize Outstanding Alumni for their achievements in promoting Scouting and their ability to reconnecting Scouting Alumni.
  • Establish networking opportunities for our members

Soaring Eagle Scholarship

The Soaring Eagle Scholarship was established to recognize a scout for their efforts in both academics and scouting. This can also include extra activities that they are participating in. A single $1000.00 scholarship is given per year but can be renewed annually. Only Eagle Scouts, Venturing Summit and Sea Scouting Quartermaster recipients may apply during their senior. Deadline is December 31st of each year. Download form

Glenn A. & Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award

The National Eagle Scout Association has established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity. The award recognizes the Scout for his Eagle Scout service project, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award. Each local council will choose a council-level winner, and from that pool, each region will pick a region-level winner. A national winner then will be selected from the four regional finalists.

Council Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award

On or before January 1st of each year, an Eagle Scout, his parents, or any registered BSA volunteer (with the Eagle Scout’s permission) may submit his Eagle Scout service project for consideration. The Scout must have passed his Eagle board of review in the prior calendar year (January 1 to December 31). Each council NESA committee will choose one winner from among the council nominees. The winner will receive a certificate and a bronze device for the Eagle Scout embroidered knot from the National Eagle Scout Association. In addition, it is recommended that each winner’s name be added to a perpetual plaque located in the council service center or other prominent local council facility, and provided by the council. All council winners will be considered for the Regional Eagle Scout Project of the Year Award. Council winners are encouraged to submit a link to an HD video about their project to the national NESA office.

Regional Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award

Regional NESA committees will select one winner for each region on or before March 31 each year. Regional award winners will be considered for the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award. The three regional winners who do not win the national award will receive $500, to be available for their future educational purposes or to attend a national or international Scouting event or facility. The local councils of those three regional winners (not the national winner) also will receive a $500 award. All regional winners will receive a certificate and a gold device for the Eagle Scout embroidered knot.

Alumni Awards

Council Alumnus of the Year Award

The Council Alumnus of the Year Award is different than other awards in Scouting as it does not simply recognize the individual for being a distinguished person or honor those giving time and energy to the BSA as a volunteer leader; Scouting already has awards that do that.
It is more of a combination between the two.
Primary consideration is given to those that remind Scouting alumni to maintain a lifetime relationship with Scouting, which enables Scouting to remain healthy for future generations. In addition, potential recipients of the award may be nominated based on the three following categories:

  • Career and/or avocation, such as achieving high honor or distinction in their chosen profession.
  • Community service, including contributions to Scouting or other community efforts or organizations.
  • Scouting promotion, contributing significantly to the promotion and/or advancement of the BSA alumni program and activities at a council level over a sustained period of time through word and/or deed.

Deadline for all nominations need to be received by December 31st of each year.

Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. The award is given by the National Eagle Scout Association upon the recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Eagle Scouts. Deadline for Nominations are due by Jan 1st of each year.

National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) is a prestigious recognition granted by the local council’s NESA committee to Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. The NOESA recognizes Eagle Scouts whose efforts have made a positive impact in the community. Deadline for Nominations are due by Jan 1st of each year.

BSA Alumni Award

A recognition program to encourage participation and work in council alumni relations programs, including NESA activities; areas of work include alumni identification/promotion, alumni engagement, personal participation, and education. 


Pedro’s Trail Hike

Sunday, December 10
12 PM
D-Bar-A Scout Ranch
880 E Sutton Rd
Metamora, Michigan 48455
Map to Camp


The Scout Oath

On my honor, I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake and morally straight.